A Day of Rest

My writer’s pilgrimage to Jack London’s home has been postponed due to heavy rains this weekend.  I am confident, however, I will visit his writing sanctuary mid-week, hike the trails, rest at the ruins of Wolf House and write about my personal experiences and insights there. 

I had to let go of my plans today, which made me think of Woody Allen’s quote: “If you want to make God laugh, tell him about your plans.”  How true. 

So, today has turned into a day of needed rest after participating fully in my son’s 8th grade graduation activities and ceremonies.  As Nicolas walked gracefully down the auditorium aisle, to the podium to receive his hard-earned diploma, acute memories flooded my mind of our 14 years together.  Tears fell gingerly, honoring this life.

Then…the realization hit–knowing too well, how fleeting the next and last four years of our lives together will be.  Up surfaces this Buddhist teaching, “Accept what is so.”  And so I do with a happy and heavy heart. 

Feeling reflective, I look to the cloudy, dreary sky, and wonder what to do next.  I think of what Jack London once said about writing, “You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” 

I will spend the rest of my afternoon, writing with a mighty club in hand. 

3 thoughts on “A Day of Rest”

  1. Nice Monica short and sweet….yes, “Life is what happens when you are making plans”
    Hot and Sunny in the Desert!

  2. Yes….rain, tears, rest, love, accomplishment, illness, years, dancing, change of plans, and a club…. descirbes life up very nicely!

  3. Needed to read this today! Been dawdling about avoiding writing….will now raise a club and go at it! Lovely blog, as always….(and you’d be surprised, your kids will leave and then return!!!) xoxo

Leave a Reply

