The Sacred Gateway

Yesterday I walked the wild, wild world of Jack London with my two young boys.  We entered the sacred gateway of adventure where nature calls, story speaks and London inspires. 

Warnings of rattlesnakes and mountain lions kept us on wide-eyed alert while the Woodpeckers knocked and the Blue Jays squawked above our heads. 

We hiked the trail to the Wolf House ruins and stood in front of London’s moss-covered grave and paid homage.  Why were we there?  What was I searching for as I traversed London’s path where he lived, worked and wrote over 100 years ago?  In being still, silent, alert, alive, I felt his presence.  I understood deeply his turbulent spirit and real need, with his great physical stamina and intense intellect to create each and every day.

London wasted no time, not a drop of it and accomplished in his short life span more than most men could do in several lifetimes.  He slept no more than 4-5 hours a night and wrote 1000 words a day to become one of the most prolific American writers to this day. 

I sat in the silence amongst the old Oaks and wispy Eucalyptus trees and recalled Jack London’s credo:  “I would rather be ashes than dust! I would rather that my spark should burn out in a brilliant blaze than it should be stifled by dry-rot. I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet. The proper function of man is to live, not exist.  I shall not waste my days in trying to prolong them, I shall use my time.”

This is the sacred gateway, where I wake each day and go inward to a sacred place inside myself, where I can create again, and again and again. 

2 thoughts on “The Sacred Gateway”

Leave a Reply

