Love What You Have

 
Picture of a red rose

“There are no ordinary moments.”  I read these words on Elena Abrams’ blog, a photographer, mother and artist who captures the moments of this one precious life through digital images

I was inspired by this quote and never before have these words rung more true for me.  I spent the first 35 years of my life rushing through most of life’s moments, days, years running away from the here and now (Pisces have escape tendencies!) until I became a stay at home mom.  Time stood still and shifted into a natural rhythm of purpose and presence.  Motherhood stilled my heart.  Nothing was the same for me, nor felt more right.  Nothing held the same level of importance than the raising of two promising and beautiful human beings.  I was home in mind, body and spirit.

I entered a nurturing world, grounded in the day-to-day, where there are no ordinary moments.  And whenever I lose sight of this fact and I know my life continues after my children, I cut basil from my garden (that reminds me of my mother and my grandmother), I take a picture of the white egret standing stoic in the wild grass, I listen intently to the barn owl hooting outside my window, I rest easy to the sound of my son’s breathing moving easily through the November night air.  I read a favorite poem.  I call my girlfriend.  I look outside and take in the rising sun, the midnight moon, the redwood trees, the red rose.  I take in the here and now and love what I have.

“Never bear more than one trouble at a time.  Some people bear three kinds: All the trouble they had, all they have now, and all they expect to have.” — Edward Everett Hale

11 thoughts on “Love What You Have”

  1. Hi Monica,
    Love your quote from Edward Everett Hale….and reading your blog! Take thoughts from wine country to the world!

  2. “…Some people bear three kinds: All the trouble they had, all they have now, and all they expect to have.” …gawd, far too often that is me — so enjoyed this post Monica… 🙂

  3. The descriptive visual and audio in this post had my ears and eyes activated as well as my, heart and soul. Thank you Monica.

  4. In reflecting about life recently, Monica, I agree that there are no “ordinary moments” since life sends happiness and challenges our way randomly. For me, capturing unique moments with my camera is what provides me with gratitude for the places to which I have wandered and the beautiful places where I live: Sonoma, Santa Fe, and Somerset.

    Your description of being a “stay at home” mom provides the reader with the insight one has in life when a mother who is fortunate to “grow up” with her children. It isn’t always easy, but, stay-at-home parenting provides, as you so beautifully describe, the mother the opportunity to “take deep breaths” and enjoy the wonderous world that surrounds us especially for us in the Wine Country. I am motivated by how you describe what you see during these special “stay-at-home mom” times in such lyrical terms – almost alike a narrative poem. Great writing.

    Marilyn

  5. There are no ordinary moments. Treasure as many as you possibly can. 🙂 I just happened to come across this today & never knew I was here. It made me smile. Thank you.

      1. Thank you.. I need to get back to it now that the baby is a little older. 🙂 I love your blog also. 🙂

  6. Couldn’t help but recall this when I read this blog. “Yesterday’s history, tomorrow’s a mystery, today is a gift; that’s why they call it the present.”

Leave a Reply

