What is Your Happy Place?

English: the forests in new hampshire in autumn
English: the forests in new hampshire in autumn (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was walking to the mailbox, hoping to find a letter from a long distance friend of mine and noticed how the Maple tree leaves were turning a bright orange.  Fall is just around the corner and the thought of that made me happy.

This happy thought led to another, of New England, a region I love to visit during the Autumn months.  It’s so peaceful, colorful and beautiful this time of year.

New England made me think of the late May Sarton, one of my favorite writers of Nelson, New Hampshire and later, York Maine who loved to live the simple life in nature–and lived to tell about it in her journals.  The thought of her daily life then, comforts me now, and makes me happy. She wrote every morning, read poetry, took a walk in the woods with her dog, put fresh flowers in her vases, fed the Eastern Cardinals, and lived amongst the things she loved the most: nature, solitude, books, her writings.  She lived in a small town, as shown here and taught me the meaning of true happiness.

Nelson, New Hampshire
Nelson, New Hampshire (Photo credit: Dougtone)

When I am out in nature and bask in the quiet of the morning, I am aware of how much noise, agitation and pain I can create within, worrying and trying to control the outcome of things and people I love most–the direction of my children’s lives, the health and safety, and quality of life of my aging parents, the future of our world.

I need and love the quiet found in the simple life.  Solitude nourishes me.  Peace is my happy place, deeply rooted inside the core of my being, where I can walk by the sea or the back country woods of Sonoma, tend to my flower garden, sit next to my animals, laugh with my family, have a hot cup of tea by the fire over a good book, or sit and write what inspires me, like today, with my blog.  All of this makes me serenely happy.

I am in my happy place when I am in nature because I am hardly noticed by her.

English: a beach in maine on a clear day with ...
English: a beach in maine on a clear day with a sailboat (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Nature is indifferent to my needs and my wants, and yet she feeds my soul profoundly if I just listen, look and take heed to the beauty of my surroundings every day.

What is it that makes you happy?  You must have a mental list of the things that bring you joy, and sustain you each and every day?

Why don’t we ask this question to ourselves more often, I wonder and practice the happy dance?  It feels better to be happy, to move about, to laugh, to dance, me thinks!

I found a letter waiting for me in the mailbox from my dear friend.  It’s a long one.  I smile.  I am grateful.

2 thoughts on “What is Your Happy Place?”

  1. Nicely put, Monica. As I sit here in beautiful Santa Fe enjoying the emerging fall colors, I think of the beauty that abounds each fall in the southwest where I am fortunate to have a second home. The colors provide me with peace and comfort as nature prepares for the winter which will be arriving shortly. I agree that nature plays an integral part in our lives if we let it. I plan to take my camera out into nature within the next few days, trying to duplicate what my eyes and heart see – although my camera never quite captures the profound beauty that is everywhere now. Taking photos is my happy dance where I plan to share the images I take with the people I love.

Leave a Reply

